Kitchen Reno

Since the kitchen is the heart of every home, that’s where what we decided to demo first. Remember the kitchen looked like this:

IMG_0860 IMG_0858

I knew I wanted to have to take advantage of the eat-in space and have a kitchen island with storage so the debate was whether or not to keep the upper cabinets.

open shelves

open shelves2 open shelves3

open shelves4

open shelves5

Or keep the uppers and just re-arrange them in a more modern and symmetrical design.

closed shelving4

closed shelving5 closed shelving3 closed shelving2 closed shelving

{pinterest}

Ultimately, I decided with storage in the kitchen, and the mudroom would be plenty. I really was craving texture, openness and light. The only way I could really accomplish that is to go with white cabinetry which I already had lived with. Don’t get me wrong, I love white kitchens, the walls and trim in the kitchen are currently be painted white, but with kids, they show everything. Knowing that this was our forever house, I knew it had to work for kids, but had to be something timeless that I would love forever. Tough order.

Next post, I’ll share what the details, but until then, here are some action shots.

walls come down walls come down3 walls come down4 walls come down5

Leave a Reply

